Executive Committee

September 8, 2023

RADFORD UNIVERSITY Board of Visitors

Page 1 of 9



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 8:00 A.M. ** SEPTEMBER 8, 2023 DEAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM KYLE HALL, THIRD FLOOR, RADFORD, VA

DRAFT AGENDA

• CALL TO ORDER Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair APPROVAL OF AGENDA Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair • APPROVAL OF MINUTES Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair o June 9, 2023, July 24, 2023 PRESIDENT'S REMARKS Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President **COMMITTEE DISCUSSION/UPDATES** Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair **OTHER BUSINESS Ratify Selection of Vice President Beane** 0 Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair **ADJOURNMENT** Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Chair

**All start times for committees are approximate only. Meetings may begin either before or after the listed approximate start time as committee members are ready to proceed.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio) Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Mr. Tyler W. Lester, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

Minutes

RADFORD UNIVERSITY Board of Visitors

Page 3 of 9



Board of Visitors

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 8:00 A.M. JUNE 9, 2023 DEAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM KYLE HALL, THIRD FLOOR, RADFORD, VA

DRAFT MINUTES

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector Dr. Jay A. Brown, Vice Rector Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio) Mr. Mark S. Lawrence, (EEC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC) Mr. Marquett Smith, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa Throckmorton, (EMBEC)

Ms. Lisa W. Pompa (AESSC) contacted Board of Visitors Rector Debra K. McMahon prior to the meeting to inform her that a personal matter would prevent her from attending the meeting in person. Ms. Pompa participated by electronic communication from her home.

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President Mr. Mike Melis, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector, called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. in the Dean's Conference Room in Kyle Hall.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Rector McMahon asked for a motion to approve the June 9, 2023 meeting agenda, as published. Mr. Mark Lawrence so moved, Mr. Marquett Smith seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Rector McMahon asked for a motion to approve the March 24, 2023 minutes of the Executive Committee meeting. Mr. David Smith so moved, Mr. Lawrence seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

PRESIDENT'S COMMENTS

President Bret Danilowicz provided an update on recent university activities, staffing changes and the recent visit from a delegation of state leadership. President Danilowicz shared his thoughts on Page 4 of 9

the upcoming strategic planning process and is optimistic that the outcomes will provide measurable outcomes and expanded opportunities for students.

COMMITTEES DISCUSSION

Rector McMahon asked if anyone had information from the committee meetings that they would like to share. Mr. Marquett Smith discussed briefly the importance of the six-year planning process that was discussed during his committee meeting and looks forward to the continued work related to the plan.

CLOSED SESSION

Rector McMahon requested a motion to move into closed session. Dr. Jay Brown made the motion that the Executive Committee of the Radford University Board of Visitors convene a closed session pursuant to Section 2.2-3711 (A) Item 1 and 8 under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act for the discussion of personnel matters related to the president's performance plan and evaluation, and consultation with legal counsel related to these matters. Mr. Lawrence seconded the motion and. The Executive Committee went into closed session at 8:44 a.m.

RECONVENED SESSION

On the motion made by Dr. Brown and seconded by Mr. David Smith, the following resolution of certification was approved by a roll call vote.

Resolution of Certification

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of the Radford University Board of Visitors certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Board.

Roll Call	Vote
Dr. Jay A. Brown, Vice Rector	Yes
Mr. Robert A. Archer	Yes
Mr. Mark Lawrence	Yes
Ms. Lisa Pompa	Yes
Mr. David Smith	Yes
Mr. Marquett Smith	Yes
Ms. Lisa Throckmorton	Yes
Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector	Yes

The resolution of certification was unanimously adopted.

OTHER BUSINESS RECOMMENDATION FOR APPROVAL OF EVALUATION AND COMPENSATION

Rector McMahon asked for a motion to recommend to the Board of Visitors approval of the Performance Plan for 2023-2024 and compensation. Ms. Throckmorton so moved, Mr. Marquett Smith seconded, and the motion carried unanimously. A copy of the resolution is attached hereto as *Attachment A* and is made a part hereof.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Karen Casteele Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Radford University Board of Visitors Resolution

Performance Plan for 2022-2023 President Bret Danilowicz

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Board of Visitors hereby approves payment for the completion of President Bret Danilowicz's 2022-2023 Performance Plan, as discussed in closed session on June 9, 2023, and that said performance plan pursuant to Section E of the Employment Agreement with President Bret Danilowicz, dated December 7, 2021, is considered a personnel record.



Board of Visitors

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 7:30 A.M. JULY 24, 2023 THE HOTEL ROANOKE & CONFERENCE CENTER 110 SHENANDOAH AVENUE, ROANOKE, VA

DRAFT MINUTES

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio) Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Mr. Tyler W. Lester, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President Mr. Steve Capaldo, Office of the Attorney General

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector, called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. in the Blue Ridge Boardroom. Rector McMahon welcomed new members and thanked the committee chairs for agreeing to serve during the upcoming year.

COMMITTEES DISCUSSION AND PLANNING FOR UPCOMING YEAR

Rector McMahon emphasized that with the important work needing to be accomplished, she would like to take this time for members to share what they see as the most important aspects for working together in the year ahead.

Committee members shared thoughts on working cohesively, how to make meetings more efficient and the importance of supporting the President and working together to move the university forward.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 7:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

End of Board of Visitors Materials

