Special Education

Graduates are qualified to teach in a variety of areas

At the undergraduate level, the special education program area provides both pre-licensure options and licensure programs through the interdisciplinary studies degree (IDS). Students seeking to teach in special education major in IDS and select one of the following specialty area options:

The concentration in special education for IDS majors provides the future teacher with highly marketable skills in supporting learners of all abilities in elementary classroom settings and working collaboratively with special education colleagues. It is not designed for special education licensure but assures that elementary candidates meet the mandates of the Every Student Succeeds Act.

The minor in special education provides an opportunity to acquire professional knowledge related to understanding and assisting individuals with disabilities. It includes a focus on educationally relevant disability law and policy, characteristics and etiology of disabilities, and special education programming and services.

Anthony Friedman talks about the pride he feels being a Radford Highlander. He shares the opportunities he’s had to have an impact as a Resident Assistant and in the future as a special educator.

Meet the Professors

dbays

Dr. Debora Bays Wilbon

540-831-5190

dbays@radford.edu

ldaniel

Dr. Leslie Daniel

540-831-7194

ldaniel10@radford.edu

btyler

Dr. Brenda-Jean Tyler

540-831-5868

bjtyler@radford.edu

liz

Dr. Elizabeth Altieri

540-831-5590

ealtieri@radford.edu

vhaskins

Vanessa Haskins

540-831-5244

vhaskins@radford.edu

ablanks

Dr. Brooke Blanks

540-831-7161

ablanks@radford.edu

dminniark

Dr. Darren Minarik

540-831-7660

dminarik@radford.edu